The University

The University of Miami was founded in 1925, and is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools. Individual programs are accredited by a total of twelve professional agencies. It is the largest private university in the Southeast, and has a full-time enrollment of more than 14,000, including more than 3,000 graduate students and 2,000 law and medical students. Two colleges and ten schools are located on the main campus in Coral Gables. The University's medical school, the fourth-largest in the United States, is situated in Miami's civic center, and the Rosentiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science is located on Virginia Key. Funded research activities total over hundred million per year.